Site navigation link
Scroll to next section

Little Villains

LITTLE VILLAINS were formed in 2006 by none other than the legendary MOTÖRHEAD drummer Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor, Mr James Childs of AVON & UK rock group AIRBUS and the Welsh bass player - Owen Street of desert rockers WAXY & sludge group VAILS. The band plays hard and heavy rock and roll, that’s it.

Unfortunately, Philthy is no longer with us, but his music shines on in true Motörspirit with his exceptional performance on the LITTLE VILLAINS Philthy Lies album, proving his explosive drumming technique was more than intact many years after his departure from MOTÖRHEAD.

Despite personal circumstance preventing the band from ever breaking out, it has now been decided that the music deserves to be heard with the band signing to HEAVY PSYCH SOUNDS and will be represented by James , Owen & the very capable AIRBUS drummer Chris Fielden to continue the group’s legacy and grow!

Little Villains are:

James Childs - bass, guitar and vocals

James Childs

Christopher Fielden - drums

Christopher Fielden

Owen Childs - guitar

Owen Childs Little Villains

Owen Street - bass

Owen Street

Philip Taylor - drums

Philthy Animal Taylor Little Villains


Taylor Made (2020)

Coming soon, on Cleopatra Records...

Philthy Lies (2019)

Philthy Lies

Available from Heavy Psych Sounds Records

Reviews of Philthy Lies:

"This debut is a half-hour slice of a rock and roll dream cake. Philthy Lies is a testament to the professionalism of Philthy Animal Taylor and is proof that he was still a rock and roll giant, even 15 years after his departure from MOTÖRHEAD." Denta Fuzz - read full review

"Fast. Heavy. Dynamic. Urgent. Philthy and James make a fusion between their two styles." Core and Co - read full review

"Philthy Lies is a great album. The record sounds honest and spontaneous, and the studio chats between the songs reinforce this feeling." - Lords of Metal - read full review

'Crying Out For More' single (2019)

Crying Out For More by Little Villains

Available from CD Baby


Summer 2004

As fate would have it, two British musicians met by chance at an electronics store on the other side of the world in Los Angeles, California.

With a smirk one of them said, “You probably recognize me, don’t you?”

The other snickered and replied, “Yeah, no shit!”

With that, the two locked into familiar British humour in between the ‘what the fuck brought you here’ conversation.

P: “What are you doing on Monday?”

J: “Dunno, starting a band?”

P: “Okay, I’ll be round with a 6 pack.”

J: “Uhh… okay, great.”

Seemingly impressed with each other’s cars – a black 1970’s Corvette Stingray hot rod and a Porsche 924 sporting a Union Jack paint job – they sped away, back into the Jungle.

Over a large tasty jacket spud and a homemade schlop, LITTLE VILLAINS were formed by the one and only Philthy Animal Taylor formerly of MOTÖRHEAD and Mr James Alexander Childs of AVON.

Regular jamming ensued with a lot of ideas being demoed in-between endless banter and stories of the road.

2005 rolled around and James headed off on the road in support of the Vic du Monte’s IDIOT PRAYER and PERSONA NON GRATA releases.

Backstage at a show in the UK, James was impressed that a group of lads had travelled all the way from Swansea in Wales to Bristol to see the band, as explained by a rather rowdy young lad called Owen Street.

He hooked up a show with his band The Buffalo Kings in Swansea where James saw him shred the bass guitar for the first time and immediately invited him to LA to jam with Philthy.

Owen somehow showed up the following year complete with bass guitar, surf board and Ford Mustang convertible.

The LITTLE VILLAINS line-up was complete!

Little Villains in LA

After some crazy nights, jamming and living the dream, LITTLE VILLAINS were ready for the studio.

In February 2007, James accompanied Phil to his lockup to locate Phil’s original DW drum kit from 1982 for the session at Unit A studio in Palm Springs, California, where tracks for the Philthy Lies album were laid down.

After the sessions, James and Phil discussed management and the possible future for the band. They both decided that circumstances beyond their control would prevent them from pursuing it any further. However, they agreed to continue to record for fun.

So, with that, James continued his career with Vic du Monte’s PERSONA NON GRATA and formed AVON .

Owen joined the desert band WAXY touring with the likes of KYUSS LIVES and formed his killer Welsh sludge duo VAILS.

Unfortunately, Philthy was taken ill in 2011 and would leave the USA for good, returning to the UK where he eventually passed away in 2015.

In 2018, after much deliberation, James decided to locate the 2 inch reels from the sessions and finish work on the album.

The album showcases James’s strong, hook filled song-writing, plenty of harmony, formidable guitar, Owen’s growling bass and, of course, features Philthy’s undeniable pioneering drumming style that oozes with attack and Motörspirit!

Philthy Lies is like one last stand, and a fitting epitaph for one of the world’s very best rock ‘n’ roll drummers.

Learn More About Little Villains

You can learn more about Little Villains on: 

Scroll to next section

Tour Dates

Taylor Made tour, TBC 2020

2020 tour dates coming soon...

More Lies European tour, November 2019

Little Villains No More Lies Tour Poster

Philthy Lies European tour, April and May 2019

Little Villains Philthy Lies Tour 2019

Plus a final night 'end of tour party' at The Poacher, Portishead, UK on Saturday 18th May 2019

Scroll to next section


Little Villains Crying Out For More
Little Villains James Phil and Owen
James Childs
Owen Street
Little Villains Philthy Lies album
Owen Childs
Chris Fielden
Little Villains
Scroll to next section


Philthy Lies Documentary

A documentary (or rockumentary, if you will) by James Childs about forming rock group Little Villains with Philthy Animal Taylor & Owen Street, focusing on recording the Philthy Lies album in 2007.

Running Around

'Running Around' from the Philthy Lies album.

Philthy Lies European Tour

Little Villains' Philthy Lies European Tour took place in April and May 2019. The tour consisted of 22 gigs in Austria, Belgium, Czechia, England, Germany, Holland, Italy and Wales.

The songs featured in the video are: 'In The Head' - from the Philthy Lies album; 'In His Blood' - a new song that is yet to be released; 'Attack' - from the Philthy Lies album.

Big thanks to Anders Jacobson, Bas Dielemans, CiHellNa, Geoff Rose, Lisa Wooldridge and Onstage Club for providing the shots of Little Villains playing live.

I Am Dying

'I Am Dying' from the Philthy Lies album.

Crying Out For More

'Crying Out For More' is the first offering from the band's brand new line up.

Scroll to next section

Contact Little Villains

Scroll to topSite navigation link

Copyright ©2020 LITTLE VILLAINS - All rights reserved.

Website design by BlueTree